Managing IP is part of the Delinian Group, Delinian Limited, 8 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX, Registered in England & Wales, Company number 00954730
Copyright © Delinian Limited and its affiliated companies 2023

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

Steve Jobs recognised by National Inventors Hall of Fame

It all started with curiosity, said Gary Starkweather, the inventor of the laser printer

“I’ve always had an innate curiosity about why things work the way they do, and I think that curiosity has helped me take a few chances and given me a wonderful career along the way,” he said in a statement.

Starkweather is among this year’s National Inventors Hall of Fame inductees who will be honoured at a formal induction ceremony in Washington, DC. The inventions and their inventors range from the widely celebrated Steve Jobs for his contributions to the personal computing, mobile device and music industries, to Dennis Gabor for his invention of holography.

“Through their dedication and persistence, these inventors have helped shape not just today but also the future,” Edward Gray, chairman of the Hall of Fame Board of Directors, said in a statement.

USPTO Director David Kappos said the inventors “have transformed the way we interact with the world”.

“Their patented inventions have built businesses, created jobs, and will inspire technological advances for generations to come,” he added.

The ceremony, sponsored by the USPTO and taking place at the Smithsonian American Art Museum and the National Portrait Gallery, will recognise six living inventors and three additional ones posthumously.

The National Inventors Hall of Fame accepts nominations each year. According to the non-profit organisation, the invention must be covered by a US patent and have impacted “society, the public welfare, and the progress of science and the useful arts”.

For more information on the inductees and their inventions, visit

The inventors

Akira Endo – Mevastatin

Barbara Liskov – programming languages and system design

C Kumar N Patel – carbon dioxide laser

Lubomyr Romankiw and David Thompson – thin-film magnetic heads

Gary Starkweather – laser printer

Alejandro Zaffaroni – controlled drug delivery systems

Posthumous recognition

Dennis Gabor – electron holography

Steve Jobs – technology

Maria Telkes – solar thermal storage systems

more from across site and ros bottom lb

More from across our site

Counsel are eying domestic industry, concurrent PTAB proceedings and heightened scrutiny of cases before institution
Jack Daniel’s has a good chance of winning its dispute over dog toys, but SCOTUS will still want to protect free speech, predict sources
AI users and lawyers discuss why the rulebook for registering AI-generated content may create problems and needs further work
We provide a rundown of Managing IP’s news and analysis coverage from the week, and review what’s been happening elsewhere in IP
A technical effect must still be evident in the original patent filing, the EBoA said in its G2/21 decision today, March 23
Brands should not be deterred from pursuing lookalike producers, and an unfair advantage claim could be the key, say Emma Teichmann and Geoff Steward at Stobbs
Justice Mellor’s highly anticipated ruling surprised SEP owners and reassured implementers that the UK may not be so hostile after all
The England and Wales High Court's judgment comes ahead of a separate hearing concerning one of the patents-in-suit at the EPO
While the rules allow foreign firms to open local offices and offer IP services, a ban on litigation and practising Indian law could mean little will change
A New York federal court heard oral arguments this week in a copyright case pitting publishing giants against a digital library