This content is from: Trademarks

Women in Business Law Awards Americas 2021: shortlist revealed

The Women in Business Law Awards is excited to present its shortlist for the 2021 Americas Awards

The Women in Business Law Awards has released the full list of finalists for its 2021 Americas awards.

The awards bring together the whole of the Americas to recognise the leading women lawyers on both continents and celebrate the law firms that have launched impressive initiatives to promote diversity and women in the practice of law.

Winners will be announced on June 10 2021.

A preview of the practice area and Rising Star finalists can be found below, but the full list of the finalists for all is available on the awards website. The Women in Business Law Awards research team carefully selected each finalist after a thorough research period which included an analysis of direct submissions, followed by interviews with law firms and in-house teams, client feedback, and much deliberation.

Individual practitioners and Rising Stars are judged not only on the complexity of the work the nominees completed in 2020, but also on their advocacy, influence, and thought leadership in relation to the promotion of women in the practice of law and within their practice area specialisms.

Law firm initiatives are recognised across various categories, including for gender diversity and work-life balance.

All of the work accepted for shortlisting closed during the research period, which was from January 1 to December 31 2020. The awards do not recognise cases, deals or transactions completed outside of the research period.

If you have any questions regarding our research process, please contact John Harrison:

The Women in Business Law Awards will be announcing the winners on June 10 through a virtual awards presentation, followed by write-ups and analysis of all the most significant work. To find out more  and to find out how you can promote your success  please contact Rebecca Synnott:

Preview of the Women in Business Law Awards Americas 2021 shortlist:

Copyright Lawyer of the Year

Antonella Carminatti - Barbosa Müssnich Aragão
Gina Shishima - Norton Rose Fulbright
Giselle Reuben - BLP Legal
Iris V Quadrio - Marval O'Farrell Mairal
Lynda Zadra-Symes - Knobbe Martens
Susan Natland - Knobbe Martens

Patent Lawyer of the Year

Anne M Cappella - Weil Gotshal & Manges
Ching-Lee Fukuda - Sidley Austin
Kamleh Nicola - Baker McKenzie
Marina Hurtado - Baker McKenzie
Melissa Hunter-Ensor - Greenberg Traurig
Saina Shamilov - Fenwick & West
Urszula Wojityra - Smart & Biggar
Yoon Kang - Smart & Biggar

Trademark Lawyer of the Year

Christina (Tina) L Martini - McDermott Will & Emery
Christina Licursi - Wolf, Greenfield & Sacks
Giselle Reuben - BLP Legal
Iris V Quadrio - Marval O’Farrell Mairal
Jessica Lynn Falk - Weil Gotshal & Manges
Lynda Zadra-Symes - Knobbe Martens
Stephanie Vaccari - Baker McKenzie
Susan Natland - Knobbe Martens

IP Rising Star

Alexia Bedat - Klaris Law
Anel Aguilar - BLP Legal
Ariadna Galvez - Dumont
Kamilah Holder - Pryor Cashman
Lilian Ghitnick Arcalji - Barbosa Müssnich Aragão
Noelle Engle-Hardy - Smart & Biggar
Yuliana Salamanca - Baker McKenzie

The material on this site is for law firms, companies and other IP specialists. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Notice before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2021 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQs.


Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | 30 Day Trial