This content is from: Home

OAPI adds 17 countries to Madrid Protocol

The Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OAPI) became the 93rd member of the Madrid System on December 5

OAPI-WIPOIt is the second multi-national organisation to join the global trade mark system, following OHIM, and means Madrid now covers more than 100 countries.

OAPI comprises Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, the Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Gabon, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Guinea Bissau, Senegal and Togo.

The Protocol enters into force for OAPI on March 5 2015.

Pictured: OAPI Director General Paulin Edou Edou and WIPO Director General Francis Gurry (photo: WIPO)

The material on this site is for law firms, companies and other IP specialists. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Notice before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2021 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQs.


Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | 30 Day Trial