This content is from: Trademarks

Euromoney Legal Media Group Asia Women in Business Law Awards 2015: Winners announced

The best female lawyers from across the region gathered at the JW Marriott in Hong Kong on November 11 to celebrate the advancement of women in the legal profession at the fifth Euromoney Legal Media Group Asia Women in Business Law Awards

Ada Chung, Registrar of Companies of the Companies Registry of Hong Kong began the evening with a keynote speech to an audience of in-house and private practitioners. The attendees had gathered to celebrate the achievements of law firms setting the standard in female-friendly working practices, and women leading the field in practice areas across Asia.

Attending guests also heard speeches on behalf of the lifetime achievement winner Zia Mody and from the outstanding practitioner winner, Michelle Taylor of Jones Day.

In the firm categories, Hogan Lovells was named to have the best gender diversity initiative by international firm, and also received the prize for best international firm China practice. In other international categories, Bryan Cave collected the award for best firm for diversity. Deacons was the winner in the national firm for talent management, with Gilbert + Tobin taking home best national firm for women in business law.

A full list of winners is detailed below.


Best in banking and finance
Anne-Marie Godfrey, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

Best in capital markets
Kaya Proudian, White & Case

Best in competition and antitrust
Kala Anandarajah, Rajah & Tann

Best in corporate governance
Kristi Lynn Swartz, Bryan Cave

Best in dispute resolution
Jelita Pandjaitan, Linklaters

Best in energy and natural resources
Carolyn Dong, DLA Piper

Best in insolvency and restructuring
Helena Huang, King & Wood Mallesons

Best in IP litigation
Christine Yiu, Bird & Bird

Best in labour and employment
Laure de Panafieu, Linklaters

Best in M&A and private equity
Jeanette Chan, Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison

Best in offshore
Ann Ng, Maples & Calder

Best in patent and trade mark prosecution
Peggy Cheung, Jones Day

Best in real estate
Dorothy Marie Ng, WongPartnership

Best in shipping
Vivian Ang, Allen & Gledhill

Best in structured finance
Kate Allchurch, Ashurst

Best in tax
Yvonne Beh, Wong & Partners

Best in TMT
Gabriela Kennedy, Mayer Brown JSM

Best in transfer pricing
Tae-Yeon Nam, Kim & Chang


Rising star: Corporate
Charlotte Evans, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Rising star: Finance
Karen Lam, Linklaters

Rising star: IP
Clarice Yue, Bird & Bird

Rising star: Litigation
Natalie Yap, Watson Farley & Williams

Rising star: Tax
Tae Hee Kim, Lee & Ko


Bird & Bird

Abrahams Davidson & Co

China – PRC firm
Dacheng Law Offices

China – international firm
Simmons & Simmons

Hong Kong – independent firm

Hong Kong – international firm
Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison

Anand and Anand

Hadiputranto Hadinoto & Partners

Mori Hamada & Matsumoto

Azmi & Partners

New Zealand
Cavell Leitch

Akhund Forbes

Quisumbing Torres


South Korea
Lee & Ko

Sri Lanka
FJ & G de Saram

LCS & Partners

Siam City Law Offices

Vision & Associates


Best gender diversity initiative by national firm
Bell Gully

Best gender diversity initiative by international firm
Hogan Lovells

Best firm for diversity by national firm
Gilbert + Tobin

Best firm for diversity by international firm
Bryan Cave

Most innovative firm

Best international firm China practice
Hogan Lovells

Best national firm mentoring programme
TSMP Law Corporation

Best international firm mentoring programme

Best national firm for work-life balance
Siam City Law Offices

Best international firm for work-life balance
Lipman Karas

Best firm for pro bono work
King & Wood Mallesons

Best national firm for talent management

Best international firm for talent management
White & Case

Best national firm for women in business law
Gilbert + Tobin

Best international firm for women in business law
Baker & McKenzie


Outstanding practitioner award
Michelle Taylor, Jones Day

Lifetime achievement
Zia Mody, AZB & Partners

In-house team of the year (under 50 lawyers)
Sime Darby

In-house team of the year (over 50 lawyers)

Asialaw in-house award
Gladys Chun, Lazada

International Financial Law Review in-house award
Christine Wong, Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing

Managing IP in-house award
Lauren Tan, Chow Tai Fook Jewellery

International Tax Review in-house award
Samantha Lim, British American Tobacco Australia

The material on this site is for law firms, companies and other IP specialists. It is for information only. Please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Notice before using the site. All material subject to strictly enforced copyright laws.

© 2020 Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. For help please see our FAQs.


Instant access to all of our content. Membership Options | One Week Trial